Full Steam[punk] Ahead!

Me and Steampunk are buddies, well maybe more like friends who live in differing states and get to see each other once or twice a year.  Adventure and cute outfits, what more could a girl want!

What is funny is how it seems to be leaking into the mainstream a little bit.  Or blowing up rather.  I can’t help but think that Mr. Scott Westerfield’s Leviathan is playing a part in that (sidenote: my YA readers group, composed of 13-15 yr olds, loved the heck out of this book).  His Uglies series attracted a lot of little ladies, some of whom do not regularly lurk the sci-fi nooks in the bookstores. And, I hope, some of my favorite contemporary YA Steampunk ,Oppel’s Airborne series, should get some street cred too.

Anyway, the point is.  I wish I could live in England so that I could attend this:

Oxford’s Museum of the History of Science’s Steampunk Art Exhibit!
http://www.mhs.ox.ac.uk/steampunk/

They are doing a competition for secondary school kids that I thought would be a great project idea for any young readers group or class who are reading Steampunk.  The assignment is to design and ‘make’ a practical device for today in the spirit of Steampunk!  Pretty cool, eh!

I thought about my machine all day and I think I would like to make something with tons of gears and pistols and tubing that does something really, really small.  Like maybe you have to crank this thing to ring my doorbell. yeah. that sounds great!

Needless to say, I will not be taking a sporadic trip to England but the website lets you lurk through some of the exhibit.  In its stead I will be going to the MIT museum to look at robots. Almost as cool.

Some Other Steampunk Books, New and Old:

His Dark Materials Series by Pullman

2,000 Leagues Under the Sea by Jules Verne

Tons of Phillip Reeve’s Books

The Time Machine By H.G Wells

Published in: on February 5, 2010 at 7:19 pm  Comments (4)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://smallhandsbigbooks.wordpress.com/2010/02/05/full-steampunk-ahead/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

4 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Don’t forget The Difference Engine by Bruce Stirling and William Gibson! If you like steampunk, you should check out my friend Natania Barron’s novel, The Aldersgate Cycle, podcasted by chapter. It’s a little bit steampunk, a little bit weird west, a little bit swords and sorcerers. Fabulous!

  2. Can I borrow the Leviathan sometimes? I have a few adult steampunk books you might like if you’re interested. Have you seen Freakangels? It’s an online graphic novel that has cool steampunk influences. http://www.freakangels.com/?p=23

  3. […] Christmas is over…why is this even remotely relevant.  Well, if you recall a certain past post, one of the earliest in fact, about my love of steampunk, these windows will become pretty darn […]


Leave a Reply

